The story of the Marqués de Murrieta winery is inextricably intertwined with the history of Rioja wine. The winery’s founder, the Marqués de Murrieta, imported production techniques into Spain from Bordeaux. In 1852 he produced his first wine in Logroño, moving into the Ygay Estate in the late 1870s. Located at the heart of La Rioja, the estate is home to Ygay Castle, headquarters of the Marqués de Murrieta wineries. The castle is surrounded by 300 hectares of vineyards.

In 1983 Cebrián-Sagarriga family took up the mantle, commencing in 2007 meticulous restoration work on Ygay Castle which was finished in 2014, the year the winery reopened its doors. Visitors can now enjoy guided tours beginning in the vineyard, continuing through renovated century-old areas, and culminating in a professional tasting of the winery’s wines.

Recognised as one of Europe’s most iconic century-old industrial buildings, Ygay Castle accommodates the whole of Marqués de Murrieta’s winemaking history, a history which laid the foundations of the D.O.Ca. Rioja Designation of Origin. Inside the castle you can visit the historic production cellar, the cask ageing rooms and the collection of wines from 1852 to the present, inspecting historic Marqués de Murrieta labels and documents along the way. It is a private collection of incalculable value.

Ygay Castle has become the perfect location for holding events, containing several dining rooms, a tasting room, a large comfortable lounge with a grand piano, and even a wine bar where you can try all the Marqués de Murrieta and Pazo de Barrantes wines (Pazo de Barrantes being the winery owned by the Cebrián-Sagarriga family in Rías Baixas).

Two new production facilities are currently being built on the estate and are due to open in late 2017. With the opening of those facilities, Vicente D. Cebrián-Sagarriga, the Count of Creixell and current Chairman of Marqués de Murrieta, will have completed the first stage of the full modernisation of this historic winery. With the help of his young, highly-skilled team, the Count has used his preparation skills and intrepid vision to great effect, creating a link between the history of Rioja’s first winery and its present while guaranteeing its future along the way.